The 1995 constitution established Uganda as a republic with an executive, legislative, and judicial
branch. The constitution provides for an executive president, to be elected every 5 years. President
Yoweri Museveni, in power since 1986, was elected in 1996 and reelected in 2001 and 2006.
Legislative responsibility is vested in the parliament; legislative elections were last held February 2006.
There are currently 102 women representatives in the 332-member parliament. The Ugandan judiciary
operates as an independent branch of government and consists of magistrate's courts, high courts,
courts of appeals, and the Supreme Court. Parliament and the judiciary have significant amounts of
independence and wield significant power.

Principal Government Officials
President and Commander in Chief--Yoweri Kaguta Museveni
Vice President--Gilbert Bukenya
Prime Minister--Apollo Nsibambi
Foreign Minister--Sam Kutesa
Minister of Defense--Crispus Kiyonga
Ambassador to the United States--Perezi K. Kamunanwire

Uganda maintains an embassy in the United States at 5909 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20011
(tel. 202-726-7100).

SOURCE: U.S. Department of State
Lanekatuk Memorial, Inc.